Skip to content

Night 1

July 28, 2010

My daughter is 12-months-old, plus 17 days. Last night her dad gave her a bath at 7:10 or so, then he got her into her pajamas and read some books to her. They called out to me at around 7:45, and I came into the bedroom to begin our nursing down routine. Amelia nursed for about thirty minutes or so, and then kept standing up, kneeling, and twisting herself and my nipples into some awkward positions. Finally, I covered myself with the sheet and explained to her that nighttime is for sleeping and daytime is for nursing. I made a song out of it. So for the next 30 minutes or so I sang “nighttime is for sleeping, and daytime is for nursing” as she crawled around the bed, came back to the breast, stood up, pointed at the fan, and bounced up and down holding onto the bed railing. When she realized she wasn’t getting the nipple any more, she got mad. Really mad. She stood up and screamed. And screamed and screamed. I kept explaining to her that it was time that we sleep without nursing. I was with her the whole time, stroking her, holding her (or trying to), talking to her. But she was pissed. After about an hour of this, I remembered something I had heard once about toddlers needing to know that you understand they’re mad. They don’t necessarily want us to tell them that everything will be ok; instead, they want to know that we know how mad they are. So I said “Amelia is MAD! Amelia is SO MAD!” She stopped crying instantly and laughed! She laid herself down next to me and cuddled up to me while I kept saying. “Oh, Amelia is so angry! And mommy knows how angry she is! It’s ok to be angry.” She did not want me to try to soothe her; she wanted me to acknowledge that it was difficult. So I did. And then she fell asleep with her body draped over mine, something she hasn’t done since she was tiny. I finally managed to get her body off mine so I could go brush my teeth and spend some time alone. About 30 minutes later or so she started crying again, so I went back in the room and cuddled her back to sleep. I fell asleep around 11:30. She woke up again at 1:50, very upset. I talked to her, shushed her, and cuddled her back to sleep, but it took a long time. I think she woke up again around 3, and she was talking and pointing at my breasts. She seemed genuinely hungry, so I let her nurse for a bit. Then she fell back asleep til 5 or 6, and we nursed and slept off and on all morning til 7:30.

I know this may sound like she nursed a lot, especially to someone whose baby has been sleeping blissfully through the night for months. I am still freaking exhausted today, but I’m willing to keep trying to change our nighttime pattern so that she and I can get more rest.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 5:42 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. July 28, 2010 8:59 pm

    I found- with both SG and XC- that passing them off to Mr. Tonks made the transition from lots of nighttime nursing to no nighttime nursing made it easier for all of us. Also, I’m a total weenie and can’t handle the screaming and crying with that accompanies boob withdrawals so there’s that. Hang in there. You’ll both be better off with a solid night’s sleep. How goes napping?

  3. July 28, 2010 11:41 pm

    Can’t wait to read more! It’s funny, we started ackowledging Wyatts digestion fits more, and he totally cries less and just stares at us. Something to be said about little brains! Keep it up Nat…you’re our inspiration for down the road!

  4. starry permalink
    July 29, 2010 1:54 am

    Hang in there!!! My sister is going through the same thing right now. It does get better!

Leave a Reply

