Skip to content

Night 12

August 8, 2010

Amelia had a harder time falling asleep, but she still didn’t really cry or scream. At first. She fell asleep at 8:30 or so, but only slept for half an hour before waking up screaming and crying. I waited a second before going back into the room, to see if she really was awake or just making sounds in her sleep. Oh, she was awake alright. I went in and it took awhile to calm her back down. Lots of standing, screaming, and crying, just like she used to do. Needless to say, I was disappointed. It took about half an hour or so, but she finally fell back asleep. I was really tired, so I went to bed then too, and I fell asleep by about 10. She didn’t wake up again until probably 2 or 3, and instead of nursing her I gave her some water from her sippy cup. She gulped it down! It’s possible that she’s not even terribly hungry in the middle of the night, just very thirsty. We live at a high altitude and the air is incredibly dry here, too. While we sleep with a humidifier on the in the room, it’s possible that she is still thirsty. I honestly don’t remember if I nursed her after giving her the water. I know I nursed her for sure at probably 5 or 5:30, then she slept until 7:30. So even though the night started out bad, with her screaming at 9:00, overall it was a pretty good night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

