Skip to content

Night 14

August 10, 2010

Last night wasn’t so bad, but we definitely have a new trend now of her nursing from around 2am, then off and on all morning. She fell asleep by 8:30, after I gave her some ibuprofen again for her teeth. I can see the swollen bumps under her gums, and I know it hurts terribly. She cried at 10:20 or so, and when I went in she was sitting at the bottom of the bed. I moved her back up and cuddled her for a bit until she fell back asleep. I brushed my teeth and came to bed. She woke up at around 2. I gave her some water, which she was very thirsty for, but she wouldn’t fall back asleep without nursing.

The trip to the mountains is this weekend, and we’ll still be cosleeping at that point. However, I am planning on transitioning her to her own bed when we get back. We’ll see how it goes. Andrew hasn’t been sleeping in our bed for the past week or so, and that’s hard for him. She sleeps better with all the space now, and I’m sure she will do better with a whole twin bed to herself. I’m just afraid that these late night wakings will continue, and since I have a hard time falling back asleep once I’m woken up, I dread going in to comfort her and not being able to fall back asleep. At least now I can nurse her at 2:00 and drift back off to sleep. But, if it doesn’t work I can easily bring her back to the big bed. It’s important to at least try and see if this is better for us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 1:36 pm

    I hope your trip goes well and provides you with the opportunity to make a change. We visited my parents when my son was 6 months and he slept in a crib the whole time (well, not the whole time–started teething when we got there and slept with us a few nights). When we returned from my parents’ house, it was an easy transition because he had already done it in an unfamiliar place for a week. We took it gradually though–spent half a night in the crib for a few nights and then started staying there longer and longer.

    The nursing habit is hard to break. I cringe when I ask this, but have you tried a pacifier? I hate my son’s, but it really helps with his need to suck to sleep…

    ashvictori.wordpress.com

    • August 12, 2010 4:36 am

      Hi. We tried a pacifier when she was younger, and she liked it for about a week, then decided it wasn’t for her. At nap time she gets a frozen pacifier to chew on while she falls asleep, and she really likes that. I’ve thought about trying one again, but since she’s over a year old, I figure it’s best just to go all out and try to get her to sleep without sucking at all. I think she is definitely learning new sleep associations that don’t rely on sucking or motion. Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

