Skip to content

Night 15

August 11, 2010

Once again, Amelia didn’t eat much dinner. I tried to get her to eat a bowl of oatmeal while she was in her bath (she did that the night before last), but she only took a bite or two. So, she nursed for awhile, then when I covered myself back up she did the usual steps to help her fall asleep. She was asleep by 8:30. At 9:20, though, she woke up, sitting up, and needed help going back down. I put her back on her side and she slept fine for awhile. I believe she woke up very very hungry at 2 or so, and I gave her some water then nursed her. All morning she was all over me, trying to nurse more. She was hungry. I didn’t sleep a ton between 2 and when she woke up for good at 7:35.

And here’s where I give you more information about my daughter than you want: she had diarrhea yesterday, which is unusual for her because usually her bowel movements are at the other end of the spectrum. I’m not sure what caused it (she seems okay today), but I think her stomach wasn’t feeling great. This could be one reason she didn’t eat a whole lot yesterday, especially at dinner. She’s becoming a pickier and pickier eater (oh toddlerhood!), so I’m trying to come up with more and more creative ways to get food into her. She loves baked goods, so right now I’m baking a batch of gluten-free savory muffins (made with almond flour and buckwheat flour), full of green veggies and squash, and cheese. Earlier this week I made some whole wheat zucchini muffins, which she loves. So, I’m going to keep working on getting her to eat more in the day, with the hopes that she’ll sleep longer stretches without needing to nurse.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 9:48 pm

    there always seems to be some sleep struggle. last night, even though evalana seemed to eat a ton for dinner, she woke up at 5am demanding bread. probably had a dream about food or something, but she wouldn’t give up on it, so i gave in. anyway, hope you all get better sleep tonight! it’s hard making changes and waiting for improvements. we’re about to embark on our next phase of our sleep transition.

Leave a Reply

