Skip to content

Night 5

August 25, 2010

I feel like last night was a little better, but I’m not sure. I’m still pretty tired. She fell asleep by 8:20, and she slept well until maybe midnight or so. I cuddled her back to sleep on her bed. Actually, she was pretty angry and upset, and I was so sleepy, that I just laid next to her and kind of nuzzled her. She cried and squirmed, sat up a few times, then she resettled and fell back asleep. I woke up at one point and I was down on her bed, so she must’ve woken me up at 1 or so, and I guess I nursed her down on her bed. In the early morning I brought her up to the big bed and nursed her there. She woke up for good at about 7. I’m pretty sure Andrew is not going to try to nap her in her bed today, but I’m not positive. She usually naps at one, and it’s just so easy to get her to sleep for two hours in her stroller. I don’t know what she’d do if she ever went to daycare. She really doesn’t let her mind shut off unless she’s strapped into her stroller with a sheet over it. If she’s on a flat surface in a room she just wants to play and crawl around. Funny baby.

And now a tangent on how awesome my baby is:

She’s so smart and so verbal. We were counting all her words yesterday, and she’s got at least 20. Her pronunciation isn’t perfect, of course, but she says so much. Last night as I was trying to get her to go to sleep, she stood up and was just standing there for a second. She said what I thought was “up,” so I replied “down. It’s time to sleep.” She kept saying up up, and I realized that she was actually saying poop (they sound really similar). She paused, then pooped. She was telling me what she was doing before she did it. That smarty. I love the way she pronounces words that end in l like ball and doll. She over-exaggerates the l sound, wagging her tongue when she says “ballllll.” It’s hilarious. She’s still not walking much on her own (the most she’s taken unassisted is fourteen steps), but she’s very cautious when she does walk. She’s not much of a physical risk-taker, but that’s okay. She’s making the most hilarious expressive faces lately, and she has the best sense of humor. Sometimes we just crack each other up. She’s also really good at the fine motor skills, like placing a shape with a small hole in it on a square-shaped peg. She’ll spend awhile doing that, until she gets them all on there. She’s also very particular about which books we read. If I choose the wrong one she swats it away and says “no” then goes and picks out the one she wants, brings it to me, and crawls into my lap.

I could go on and on and on and how my heart swells around her, and how she’s seriously the most incredible human being I’ve ever met, but you’ve heard it/felt it before. There’s truly no love like the love you feel for your child.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

