Skip to content

Night 2

February 23, 2011

I think it was better, but it’s hard to say because I fell asleep at 7:45 rather than 12:45. Those extra five hours make me feel more rested for sure, so it’s hard for me to tell if the night was easier overall. I think it was. She drank a lot of water throughout the night, and didn’t really want to nurse until the early morning (maybe 5am? not sure, exactly). It was a struggle in the morning for sure, and I nursed her at around 6:30 or so, when we got up for the day.

I am optimistic. I have a new resolve that I was missing before. I think before I wasn’t totally sure that I wanted her to be night-weaned, but now I feel really certain about it. This helps me hold to it. Part of me feels sort of guilty because it’s a cold turkey kind of thing, but in the end I think it’s less confusing than the slow process that Dr. Jay Gordon recommends. Also, there are other things I don’t agree with him about (vaccine stuff), so it’s always important to remember to take every expert and pediatrician’s advice with a grain of salt.

Actually, maybe that’s the theme of this blog. Since I’m not nursing my daughter at night any more, I’ve started to pay close attention to how she eats in the evening. Doctors typically recommend that once a child begins playing with her food, then she’s done with her meal. She’s full. I was taking this advice seriously, and Amelia would hardly eat anything at night. However, lately I’ve been letting her sit at the table for a very very long time, and I notice that she’ll eat for a couple minutes, play with her food for ten minutes, then eat again for a few minutes, very eagerly. Last night she ate several little courses–beans and rice, then corn, then some cereal, then some strawberries. She probably ate three times as much as usual, because I respected her need to take her time. She’s in the 25% for weight, so it’s not like she’s over-eating. I think that she’s actually been underfed because I’d been taking that advice so seriously.

The lesson, and I’m going to type it in caps lock: EVERY PERSON IS DIFFERENT. Respect yourself and your child as an individual, not a piece of a generalization. I’ve come to realize that my daughter’s personality does not often fit into the advice given by pediatricians and child experts. For example, she started sleeping better at night with LESS sleep during the day (they all say sleep begets sleep. Not so for my little one). She’s advanced with language, but maybe a bit behind with gross motor skills; she likes to think carefully about doing things before she does them. She doesn’t necessarily fit into any easy plan or category, and I love that about her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

