Skip to content

Night 3

February 24, 2011

Insomnia, cosleeping, and me

Insomnia. Evil evil evil insomnia. There are few worse things in this world than not being able to sleep when you desperately need to. Actually, that’s not true. There are many many worse things in this world. Genocide, economic injustice, oppression, child abuse, global warming denial, among others. But it’s hard to see the bigger picture when you’re lying in bed awake from 1:00 am to 5:00 am, knowing that the kid will be up soon, and that you’ll be too tired to do anything, yet you’ll go to work and participate in society as usual.

Wait, what?

Anyway, my problem aside, last night seemed better. She cried for milk earlier, but her pleas were shorter. She’s ready for milk and for the day to begin at about 6:20 every day now. Before we started this project I’d just nurse her in bed and she’d let me sleep until 7. I have a feeling those days are behind us now that we’re not nursing in bed any more. Will it be worth? I sure hope so.

In cute news, she’s been drinking a lot of water during the night, and after I hand her her sippy she’ll take a sip, then utter out the saddest “thank you” I’ve ever heard. She never says thank you during the day, but when I give her water in the middle of the night, she feels compelled to express her gratitude. I think it’s adorable.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

