Skip to content

Nights 6 and 7

March 1, 2011

Nothing too eventful. Last night I think she got hungry earlier because she was awake for good at 6. We didn’t get out of bed to go nurse until 6:20 or something, but I was kind of disappointed that we were awake so early. We didn’t get to bed last night until later than usual, so I had hoped she’d sleep in. Alas, she did not.

On night 6 she started making little sounds early in the morning like she was really uncomfortable. She was thrashing around and letting out little squeals as though a pain was shooting through a part of her. It could have been a tummy ache–? I’m not really sure what it was, but she didn’t ask for milk until even later.

It’s too bad I don’t have more exciting news. Check back in tomorrow for the beginning of Week 2! I can hear your cheering and applause from here.

Oh, actually, I do have more to say.

The reason we fell off the cosleeping through the night wagon before is because I wasn’t sure what direction we were headed in. We tried to sleep apart, but that didn’t work for any of us. Then she got a crazy high fever, so I nursed her throughout the night to comfort her. Of course, after she got well I continued nursing her at night again, though not until after midnight.

I questioned our decision to cosleep (was she happier with more space? should I teach her to sleep alone?), but realized that the three of us are overall content to sleep next to each other. When she was in her own room one of us would be next to her in her little twin bed pretty much all night. So we decided it was stupid to sleep in the small bed, and we revived the family nest after a week or so out of it.

So I’ve really come full circle in some ways. The blog was designed as a way to figure out how to cosleep through the night, and that’s what we’re doing now. We’ve gotten very close this past week. Aside from a couple water breaks every now and then, she’s sleeping much much longer. I think developmentally she’s ready to night wean, and emotionally I am.

That’s why we’re doing what we are doing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

