Skip to content

Nights 12-14

March 7, 2011

So, here I am back to questioning why I’m night weaning her, when she wakes up just as frequently, if not more. Does it really make a difference if she uses nursing to help her fall back asleep, versus crying out in pain or discomfort and tossing and turning all night? I’m more tired than I’ve been in a long time, and we’ve been doing this for two weeks now. Is it supposed to get easier at some point? Is she going to just get it, and start sleeping through the night?

I asked her this morning what was hurting, because she was making noises like she was in pain. She told me it was her teeth. So now I’m questioning my original stomach diagnosis–maybe it’s teething again? Her incisors are all coming in, and she’s been teething pretty much nonstop since she was 8 months old.

I don’t want to rule out stomach pain if that’s what it is. My mom suggests taking her to a homeopath rather than the traditional doctors (and after an unnecessary catheter they did once, I kind of agree), but if her stomach really is bothering her, I want to fix it, and soon.

I’m not sure I’d advise night weaning as a way to get more sleep. Maybe for some people, but it doesn’t seem to be working for us. I’m going to stick with it awhile longer (maybe for 20 nights, since she’s just about 20 months old), but if it still seems to be damaging all our sleep patterns, I’ll go back to nursing her at night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

